Continuing our series of posts here at your favorite Baltimore Criminal Defense firm, “Traffic Lawyer Series” where we break down the exact charges you may face and what the State must prove for you to be guilty. For our first post, click here: Driving without a license. Also, Check out Driving on Suspended or Revoked License! Now, Running a Red Light!
Failure to Stop at a Red Light
21-202 Failure to Stop at Red Light
According to Maryland Transportation Article 21-202, you are guilty of Failure to Stop at a Red Light if there is a steady red traffic signal and you do not stop at a clearly marked line. If there is no clearly marked stop line you must stop before entering any crosswalk, or if there is no crosswalk, before entering the intersection. You must remain stopped until a signal to proceed is shown unless:
- There is no sign prohibiting you from making a right turn or a left turn from a one-way street onto a one-way street; or
- There is a sign permitting any other turn is in place and you cautiously enter the intersection and make the turn indicated by the sign.
In each instance, vehicular traffic shall yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian or bicycle lawfully within an adjacent crosswalk and to any vehicle in the intersection or approaching on another roadway so closely as to constitute an immediate hazard. If no accident is involved, Failure to Stop at a Red Light carries 2 points, $140.00 fine, however if an accident is involved it is 3 points and a $180.00 fine.
Maryland Traffic Lawyer: Bottom Line
If you find yourself charged with running a red light, you won’t go to jail, unless it is tied to another incarcerable traffic charge, but you could experience increased costs for your insurance and if you already have points on your license you could end up in driving school. There are, however, a number of good defenses and factors that can reduce your charge. That’s why it’s so vitally important to keep your favorite Baltimore Criminal Lawyer’s number handy!