Continuing our new series of posts here at your favorite Baltimore Criminal Defense firm, “Traffic Lawyer Series” where we break down the exact charges you may face and what the State must prove for you to be guilty. For our first post, click here: Driving without a license. Now, Check out Driving on Suspended or Revoked License below!
Driving on Suspended or Revoked License
16-303 Driving on Suspended or Revoked License
According to Maryland Transportation Article 16-303, you may not drive a motor vehicle on any highway or public use property while your license or privilege to drive is Suspended or Revoked. The penalty for Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License, with or without an accident, is 12 points and you must appear in court where you will face a penalty of 1 year in jail and/or $1000 fine (or more if you have priors).
You may also not drive a motor vehicle on any highway if your license or privilege to drive is suspended due to: (1) Lapse or termination of insurance; (2) Failure to comply with a notice to appear for a traffic citation; (3) Failure to appear in U.S. District Court under federal traffic laws or regulations; or (4) Not paying a fine under the Maryland Vehicle Law or any federal traffic law or regulation for a violation occurring in Maryland. The penalty for Driving on a Suspended License for one of the above listed reasons, with or without an accident, is 3 points and you must appear in court, facing 60 days and/or a $500 fine.
Traffic lawyer bottom line
If you find yourself charged with Driving on Suspended or Revoked license, you could easily spend some time in the detention center if it is a repeat offense. It is not a charge to be toyed with lightly. There are, however, a number of good defenses and factors that can reduce your charge. That’s why it’s so vitally important to keep your favorite Baltimore Criminal Lawyer’s number handy!